Namaqua Scoops Three Teaching Awards


Kimberley - Namaqua district has scooped three teaching awards outclassing the four districts in the province.

Out of the top nine provincial awards Namaqua district scooped Excellence in Special Needs Teaching, Excellence in Primary School Leadership and Excellence in Primary School Teaching awards respectively.

John Taolo Gaetsewe and Frances Baard districts shared two awards respectively followed by Pixley ka Seme and Z F Mgcawu districts getting one each.

When addressing the teaching award ceremony, MEC for Education Grizelda Cjiekella-Lecholo said on the daily basis teachers face challenges in and out of classrooms that require extra ordinary qualities and resilience.

“Perhaps the greatest of all challenges is responding to the belief that schools and teachers can solve virtually all the problems of society in an instant.

Our teachers go selflessly beyond the call of duty to ensure that our learners receive the best quality tuition and fair chance to live the lives that they deserve. They influence our thoughts, our outlook on life, they inspire us, and they encourage us to be the best we can be,” said Cjiekella-Lecholo.

The most memorable award was that of Excellence in Mathematics Teaching category that was clinched by Ketshepile Raadt, the Deputy Principal from Emma Mmogo High School.  Speaking about his award, Raadt said the award the inspired and a motivated him and his fellow teachers.

“This shows that as teachers we are doing something right and to be recognised in this fashion really means a lot to me, this will also give me more courage to keep on working hard and making sure that I improve the life of those learners by equipping them with relevant knowledge,”said Raadt.

Doni Bontsi from Vuyolwethu High School walked away with the Excellence in Science Teaching category.

The lifetime Achievement awards went to Francina Noeth.

Here are the overall winners:


Excellence in Secondary Leadership, Mrs Lebongang Mei, John Taolo Gaetsewe District, JTG Moedi Secondary School.

Excellence in Secondary School Teaching, Mr Herbert Du Plooy, ZT Mgcawu District, Danielskuil High School.

Excellence in Special Needs Teaching, Mrs Lizelle Lottering, Namaqua District, Nico Bekeer Intermediate.

Excellence in Grade R Teaching, Mrs Anneke Roussouw, Pixley Ka Seme District, Saamstaan Primary School.

Excellence in Primary School Leadership, Mr Fadiel Farao, Namaqua District,  Francois Visser Priamry School.

Excellence in Primary School Teaching, Beulah Joseph, Namaqua Distrct, St Cyprians Intermediate.

Lifetime Achievement Award,  MrsFrancina Noeth, John Taolo Gaetsewe, Van Zylsrus Intermediate School.

Excellence in Mathematics Teaching, Mr Ketshepile Raadt, Frances Baard District, Emma Mmogo High School.

Excellence in Science Teaching, Mr Doni Bontsi, Frances Baard District, Vuyolwethu High School.

All the nine winners will represent the province at the National Teaching Awards that will take place next year in Johannesburg next year.